My drawing of Carl Fredricksen from Up (2009 film).

My drawing of Carl Fredricksen from Up (2009 film).

There’s a saying I came across once, but never forgot — “you get to be a child once, but you can be childish forever”.

How many of you saw the Disney/Pixar animated film Up? The plot follows a retired balloon salesman Carl Fredricksen, 78-years-young, who dusts off an old childhood dream he once shared with his now deceased wife (Ellie) to explore a specific scenic vista in South America. Carl sets off on his adventure in a floating house attached to close to 20,000 balloons (give or take a few)!

I sometimes forget how much I wanted to go work for Disney Studios and become an animator and voice-over.

I sometimes forget how great it felt to sit down quietly and spend hours sketching, drawing, colouring and inking cartoon characters like the one I did above.

When we’re kids we seem so fearless. We conjured up the biggest dreams with our wild and overly-active imaginations. Where does it all go when we hit adulthood? Such a mystery.

These last few months I’ve taken time to try and get back to my roots. I was drawing once I could actually hold a pencil properly (age 3) and nearly 29 years later I still have that love affair.

No matter how advance technology gets with software such as Adobe Illustrator, there’s no substitution for the basics. Evolution is important in self-development, but not at the cost of losing the original model; yourself as a child.

Spend some time reflecting on what drove you as a child and try to bring that ambition into your current space. There’s absolutely any we can’t dream big! After all, the only one who can tell you what you can and cannot accomplish, is yourself.

